Amsterdam, The Netherlands – July 2015

This is definitely one city I won’t be forgetting anytime soon, and not that I’d want to but there are some things I’d like to forget. Some friends and I decided to book up a trip to Amsterdam, the ultimate party city, as a celebration of three of us finishing our A-Levels, it was supposed to be a chance to unwind after studying took over our lives, so we were going to go to Amsterdam and try out the local produce if you get what I mean.

    As soon as we’d landed and gone from Schiphol Airport to Amsterdam Central, three of us went straight to a smart shop (a shop where they sell everything that isn’t cannabis, and a lot of herbal compounds that are made to create the feeling of a well-known drug without as much danger) and asked the very nice man working there if we could have the strongest mushroom truffle there was- he replies “Are you guys experienced with truffles or magic mushrooms?”

“Oh yeah, of course, we do them all the time, can we have an extra large tub each please?”

    We had lied, of course, but we knew you’d have to wait a month to get the effects again so we wanted to hit hard. So we each took the first half of our box and waited for the effects to kick in, or for us to start seeing things like yeti’s come for us, but it wasn’t like that. After being violently sick for about twenty minutes (if you go there and want to take them, I’d recommend a completely empty stomach) I began to feel like everything was vibrating in the room, the pictures on the wall in the Downtown Amsterdam Hotel we moving in small squares around the wall. We all decided that we’d probably end up going mad if we stayed in there so we all went on a walk, we walked from Kerkstraat, to Vondelpark and all the way back up to the Red Light District. Of course I knew what went on there, and I’d drawn up an idea in my head about what it would be like but it was completely wrong. I walked through small dark alleys, with dim red lights where beautiful women tried to entice men to buy them for an hour, it was definitely unlike anything I’d ever seen before. It was the other two who hadn’t come with us and hadn’t taken any truffles that decided they wanted to see a sex show. I payed 40 euros to go and sit in a cinema, with families at the front row, and a woman walked out put on a little show and then decided to puff a cigar out of her vagina, I think the correct term for how I was feeling at that point is tripping balls.

We went to Amsterdam for 5 days, I’d definitely say to go for less as we’d walked through the entire city and seen everything we felt we needed to see by day 3.

On the last full day of the holiday, we’d been to a coffee shop and enjoyed a couple of blunts, we’d also been to a smartshop that day and bought some Allegria Forest Fruits, which was a form of liquid ecstasy (we had to do this because by day 3 all funds for food were running low and it was cheaper to buy things that would suppress our appetite) and we just sat along the canal, smoking some cigarettes and waving to strangers on boats, and if they seemed nice we’d ask if we could go for a boat ride with them, we didn’t really think anyone would let us on but two men came over and told us to hop on, they showed us all of Amsterdam from the canals, they took us everywhere we never would’ve been able to see if we weren’t on a boat, we offered to pay them petrol but they weren’t interested. I think this is why I love the Dutch now, everyone is so friendly and kind, not one nasty drunk parading the streets, just nice kind people.

Would recommend Amsterdam, or anywhere in The Netherlands to anyone I know.

Along the canal in Amsterdam


Leave a comment