So there was this one really ignorant girl on Facebook…

A while back I was scrolling through Facebook and I was left dumbfounded by this one girl and her damning post.

She says, and these are genuine quotes – word for word, “Okay, so I keep seeing people jumping on the feminism bandwagon and felt a rant coming on because in my opinion, sexism does not even exist.”

   Okay, so my newsfeed is filled with ignorant people, and this is making me cringe to read, but maybe she doesn’t mean it like that…

Do people ever notice that the majority of the way we act is predetermind via our gender? Women are inclined to play certain roles in society as are men. Maybe “kitchen” jokes aren’t actually sexist but a representation of the inbuilt maternal instinct of a female.”

       For God’s sake please tell me she didn’t just say sexist remarks aren’t sexist, and how does my ‘maternal instinct’ make it okay for people to incinuate that I belong in the kitchen? This has to be satire.

Maybe men should be required to cry less because they are seen as the stronger gender of our species and their role is to provide support because after all, all we are is another species of animals.”

       Men are allowed to cry whenever they like, saying they’re not is a form of sexism itself, and crying doesn’t make anyone less stronger – who the f*ck still believes in Social Darwinism?! Physically, yes, men are usually physically stronger but it’s wrong to say in general they always are, this is why FEMINISM is fighting for equality.

So many other animals have gender roles within their species just like we do so why do people feel so inclined to call it “sexism” whenever their roles are pointed out?”

    Because not every woman wants to be a housewife? I don’t, and I’d find it pretty offensive if while I’m in university someone came up to me and told me that I should be married, with two kids and being a little homemaker, infact I think my immediate reaction would to be to punch them right in their sexist face. If a woman or a man wants to stay at home and look after their kids, then good for them, go for it and I wish them all the happiness in the world for their dream, but don’t piss all over mine, many other women (Including me) have dreams and ambitions that just don’t involve children and if anybody wants to tell me that I shouldn’t think like that then all I have for them is my bony middle finger stuck right in their face.

Both genders aren’t the same types of people. Ask any transgender person they understand more than anyone that our brains are wired differently. We have totally different mannerisms.”

     I think she just threw the transgender part in there to be PC (politically correct) and as far as I’m concerned a transgender person only identifies as one gender, many feel as though they’re a different gender to the one they were designated at birth so that is a completely different ball park, a transgender person would most probably be offended if you went up to them and asked them; ‘Hey! What was it like when you were a woman/man?’

I physically cannot go on anymore, this status was the epitome of contradictory statements. I couldn’t help but comment, but alas I was met with SEXIST comments such as:

Some guy says: “When is this feminist going to stfu”

Another guy says: “Alright ladies enough arguing about sexism and get back to the fucking kitchen before I kidnap you both and get you enrolled to my sex slave program.”

The girl who wrote the status: “Mission 1: deny all dismal feminists a life, they are the new Jews.”

I’d like to say thanks guys, for your lovely comments…

All I said was: “This is social Darwinism, it’s pretty outdated and the last time it was really practiced was Nazi Germany. So would you like to be a housewife? Is all you’re good for pushing kids out?”

I’d like to thank all of you for your misinformed comments and I’d love it if you actually read a book, or even looked at the definition of feminism.

I’d also like to let this poor girl know that the Free the Nipple campaign, that you also support is a feminist campaign, campaigning for equal rights – the right for one to show their nipples along with the other.

As for your tweet that I saw where you’d looked up the dictionary definition of feminism (you came up on my reccomended and I just had to see if your tweets were just as silly as your status’)

“For anyone who wants to make up claims that feminism is ‘aimed at the equality of the sexes”… and then went on to print screen “Feminism: the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.” and then went on to zoom in on the women’s rights part – it’s embarrassing, you should delete it quick, “on the ground of equality of the sexes” means equality for everyone.

The purpose of this essay is to demonstrate the views of feminism in some young women, anything that’s been quoted has been taken from Facebook- a page which I had access to, there is no indication as to who wrote the status and the only purpose of it being included is to stress the views of some young women- the italics represent my opinion.


Leave a comment